Nintendo Announces Super Nintendo Classic Mini-Console

Nintendo has announced the Super Nintendo Classic, with a stellar 21 game lineup. The full lineup of games is varied and includes some legendary games and some that go for incredibly high prices now.

  • Contra III: The Alien Wars
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • EarthBound
  • Final Fantasy III
  • F-Zero
  • Kirby Super Star
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Mega Man X
  • Secret of Mana
  • Star Fox
  • Star Fox 2
  • Street Fighter II Turbo
  • Super Castlevania IV
  • Super Ghouls ‘n Ghosts
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario RPG
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Punch-Out
  • Yoshi’s Island

The Super Nintendo Classic will be available on September 29 for $79.99, and the inclusion of Star Fox 2 will be the first time this game will see an official release of any kind. Hopefully, it gets some kind of Virtual Console release so series fans won’t have to only buy this to officially play the game. The device will use the standard SNES controller ports – so anyone wanting to use their fight sticks or turbo pads from the SNES era can do so now for Street Fighter II.  It’s a bit surprising to not see the other Mega Man X SNES games included on this, which along with the Donkey Kong Country trilogy only being represented by the first games makes things feel a bit incomplete.