Square Enix Reveals TGS 2014 Lineup

While many look forward to E3, PAX, GDC and Gamescom, some of us here at Hardcore Gamer consider Tokyo Game Show to be the most exciting gaming convention of the year. That being said, this year’s TGS is fast-approaching. With only sixteen days left (really fifteen, since it’s already September 3 in Japan), studios will shortly begin to release what they will be showing off at the expo. Square Enix is one of the first companies to reveal their hand, giving folks a glimpse at their pretty impressive lineup. While this roster is not set in stone, it at least provides us with a snapshot of the bigger titles Square will have on-hand:

  • Dragon Quest X Online
  • Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King
  • Dragon Quest IV: Chapters of the Chosen
  • Bravely Second
  • Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
  • Chaos Rings III: Prequel Trilogy
  • Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remaster
  • Final Fantasy Explorers

Although TGS is primarily focused on which games will be released in the East, it’s not uncommon for developers and publishers to talk about what all they have in the pipe for Western audiences. Thus, we can only hope that Dragon Quest X will be discussed in such a capacity, as we’ve been waiting on a localization since its launch in 2012.

Perhaps what will be most interesting to folks is the absence of Final Fantasy XV. Not that we necessarily thought it would be a sure-fire thing, but there have been plenty of rumors swirling about on the ol’ interwebs indicating it may make an appearance (including the game’s domain name change that happened just last week). If this were true, though, and it is scheduled to make a showing, it would be wise of Square Enix to not let the cat out of the bag prior to the expo. Therefore, not seeing it on this list is not surprising either way.

2 thoughts on “Square Enix Reveals TGS 2014 Lineup

Leave a Reply