Star Wars Battlefront II Gives Players Space Battles in New Mode

EA and DICE are finally letting Star Wars fans hop in their favorite ship’s cockpit and dogfight in space.

Despite being called Star Wars, the first Star Wars Battlefront title from EA and DICE never let players fight among the stars. The game’s Fighter Squadron mode kept battles in the planet’s atmosphere, and it wasn’t till the Death Star DLC, which cost money, that players could finally fly in space. Well, that mistake isn’t being made with Star Wars Battlefront II.

The new Starfighter Assault mode let’s players pilot iconic ships across all three Star Wars eras. DICE and Criterion have worked hand-in-hand to improve and expand flying, add deeper customization, and provide an all new class-based system. Here are all the space maps so far:

  • The Unknown Regions – Resurgent Star Destroyer
  • Endor – Death Star Debris
  • Fondor – Imperial Ship Yard
  • Ryloth – Lucrehulk Battleship
  • Kamino – Research Outpost

The trailer also provided us our first look at the hero ships in the game. From the prequel era we have Darth Maul’s Scimitar and Yoda’s Jedi Starfighter. From the original era we have Luke Skywalker’s X-Wing, Han Solo’s Millennium Falcon, Darth Vader’s Tie Fighter, and Boba Fett’s Slave I. Finally, we have Poe Dameron’s X-Wing. Like the actual heroes, her ships appear to have their own unique abilities. For example, the Scimitar appears capable of cloaking itself for a short amount of time.

Starfighter Assault will receive a full gameplay reveal during the EA Live Show at Gamescom today. The show begins at 9:30am PDT/6:30pm CET with 24 players dogfighting in the Fondor: Imperial Shipyard map.

Star Wars Battlefront II is out November 17 on PS4, Xbox One, and PC.